Author Topic: Voices and Styles comparison between PSR-550 and PSR-E373 and Casio CT-X700  (Read 879 times)

Offline hey_haho

Hi everyone,

My first post in the forum. Wising everyone a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

I am looking at a used PSR-550, a more-than-20-year-old keyboard, and I wonder how the Voices and Styles in that keyboard compared with some more recent entry level keyboards, like Yamaha PSR-E373 and Casio CT-X700?

A bit of background, when I was a student, PSR-550 was kind of a mid-range keyboard. I now have my PSR-S970 and it is awesome to me, however, I want to buy a cheaper one for my kids to play with, without damaging my more expensive S970 :P.

In the used market, PSR-550 and PSR-E373 and Casio CT-X700 are pretty much having the same price (of around less than $100).

Please let me know if you happen to have some info.

Thank you very much for reading!

Offline pjd

Hi --

Welcome to the Forum!

I did a quick compare PSR-E373 against the PSR-550. About the same, really. Since you're playing an S970, you pretty much know what to expect from an arranger. If it's new E373 vs. used PSR-550, I'd go new E373. You get the warranty and know that the instrument hasn't been abused or sitting in a not-so-good environment for 20 years.

I had a CT-S1000V for a while and used it rather seriously. Casio has come a long way. I prefer Yamaha's auto-accompaniment over Casio "rhythms". Might be worth a stop at a Casio dealer for a try-out.

Kids loved the CT-S1000V voice synthesis, but I realize its price is beyond your budget.

Hope this opinion helps -- pj

Offline flailman