Author Topic: SX700 vs SX900 a quick comparison for those who can't decide  (Read 2475 times)

Offline alaman64

SX700 vs SX900 a quick comparison for those who can't decide
« on: December 06, 2023, 03:32:18 PM »
Hi everyone,

I'm a photographer who's close to 60, but has dabbled in music since my early teens. My setup for the longest time has been cubase and a ton of VST instruments, just wasn't doing much music lately, I think I was spending more time, going through thousands of voices, in my 20 or so VST instruments than writing songs, by the time I found the right piano, I'd be too tired to write any music.

So I discovered arranger keyboards 2 weeks ago, and thought wow, this has everything I want. So I purchased an SX700 after watching a few Youtube videos, brought it home, and had a big smile on my face. It sounded great!!! Then as I went through multiple styles, I found some were great, some were not. The ones that I did not like, was mostly the right hand parts, with the default voice for the style, I found them a bit too loud, or just did not sit well in the mix. With the mixer, and a little adjusting of the voices, they could be fixed to my liking. I found that 30 to 40 percent of the voices needed some tweaking. I don't tweak any more, I used to be a big tweaker, now, I just want to turn it on, choose a style and play.

So after a few late nights reading these forums and all the comparisons between SX700 and SX900, I brought back the SX700 and purchased the SX900. I could not do a proper comparison because, because  I had returned the SX700. I found that almost all the styles on the SX900 were spot on, and did not need any tweaking. Don't know why, I was under the impression, that they were basically the same keyboard, same sound engine.

The other thing to keep in mind is that there are more downloadable styles for the SX900 vs SX700.

There are many other differences between both keyboards, that have been covered here quite well.

Offline mikf