Author Topic: PSR SX 900 touch sensitivity / Dynamics... and other finds  (Read 1897 times)

Offline jerrykjt

PSR SX 900 touch sensitivity / Dynamics... and other finds
« on: July 19, 2023, 06:39:15 AM »
Just purchased a new SX900.

As I started playing, noticed the key action is nice but it has a flaw.
We cannot play Soft ! However soft you play the sound comes out loud.
Modifying the touch curve also didn't make much difference.
Seriously dissatisfying Yamaha !

The previous series did not have this issue(but we had to bang on the keys to get a nice tone out of it). But those series had better dynamics and control over the velocity.

The piano sounds on the SX900 are really pathetic and sounds really thin and weak.
Upright Pianos are a joke.
Even the Live Grand Piano sound in the Legacy category sounds different from the the S970/S975 series

I couldn't find a good electric piano sound also in the main category. However the Legacy section have the older ones which seems better.

There no Orchestral-Strings+Horns combination sounds (with the crash Cymbal on the left hand side) in Main Strings category. However the Legacy category has the old Orchestral Tutti and with a bit of layering, could get a decent sound. Not sure why there no these type of sounds in the main category.

Most of the presets are drenched in dense reverb as usual.

Also feel the highs are some what boosted overall and sounds screeching shrill out of the box. But then that can be corrected with the EQ.

About the styles, Yamaha decided to ditch the Ballad category button. Now its so super cluttered because the ballad styles are scattered across the Rock, R&B etc. Its pretty hard to find them after flipping through pages and pages. Yes there is a search function, But Still !

There are other 3rd party expansions like CMS sounds which makes awesome sounds for the SX series.
If they can do it why not Yamaha.