Author Topic: S.Art Piano Voices  (Read 1835 times)

Offline Photon

S.Art Piano Voices
« on: January 15, 2023, 10:58:50 AM »
I couldn't understand the difference between S.Art piano voices and regular piano voices. Please explain how to use this feature for piano voices. I am a beginner. Thanks.

Offline DerekA

Re: S.Art Piano Voices
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2023, 05:15:59 PM »
To be quite honest, this is one of those voices where I don't think anyone really knows what the SArt brings to the party.

Offline mikf

« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2023, 05:51:11 PM »
If you select the voice and hit info (little circle with an i in the middle) it will describe the s. Art feature and how to use it. I am familiar with S Art on many instruments, although I seldom use it, but I can’t imagine what SArt can add to a piano voice, and I don’t have S Art on any of my piano voices so can’t look for you.
If you are a beginner as you state, you have a long way to go before you want to be worrying too much about the subtle voice features which S Art might add. Even a very skilled player, might not use them much in live playing. Maybe if you are trying to squeeze every bit of authenticity into a super sophisticated recording, but otherwise ……….
Mike

Online p$manK32

« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2023, 10:37:23 PM »
To be quite honest, this is one of those voices where I don't think anyone really knows what the SArt brings to the party.

Yeah, it just means the piano sound is better than the previous models :)
SX900, MODX7+

Offline pjd

« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2023, 06:11:56 PM »
I think Yamaha has stretched the meaning of "S.Art" a little bit in order to make a promotional (marketing) point.

The "S.Art" piano voice is one example. If I remember right, the S.Art feature is the use of release samples, i.e., a quiet sound made after a key is released. This would be a subtle addition.