Author Topic: rhythms missing 2/4 6/8 12/8  (Read 2201 times)

Netsurfer

rhythms missing 2/4 6/8 12/8
« on: May 24, 2022, 12:12:38 AM »
Hi, happy to have found this forum :)
I'm writing for my dad, who is not very good on the internet XD
He has a SX900 and since the beginning, he's told me about this problem:
He can't find any rhythms or styles (I don't know exactly if they are the same thing sorry) like 2/4, 6/8 and if I'm not wrong 12/8 too.
(I studied piano years ago but I'm not an expert with keyboards).
He also told me that some rhythms are labeled in a way but in reality they are something else.
Can you help me with this problem please?
Of course if you need some information I'm gonna get it for you :)

P.s. I think my father and a friend of his that has the same problem and the same keyboard already tried the expansion pack on the website, if that's something they had to do :)

P.p.s. I'm Italian if anyone is interested :)
« Last Edit: May 24, 2022, 12:15:45 AM by Netsurfer »

Offline mikf

Re: rhythms missing 2/4 6/8 12/8
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2022, 12:49:50 AM »
 There has been a lot of discussion about this issue in the past. I think he is referring to the styles that are labeled as 6/8, 2/4 or 12/8 actually show 4/4 in the style. That’s because Yamaha tend to use 4/4 to program all these different time signatures. It really doesn’t matter to the style programming (although there are some who think it does!) because all the styles mentioned are based on either 2 beats or four beats to the bar and to the midi time clock that doesn’t matter. However, I bet that won’t stop the flurry of posts pointing out why it does matter :) because some have a big bee in their bonnet about this issue.