Author Topic: Transposing on PSR SX 900 for Novice player.  (Read 3824 times)

Offline geoff5798

Transposing on PSR SX 900 for Novice player.
« on: January 07, 2022, 12:01:30 PM »
Im still a novice player. I have just bought a book with 700 tunes in it. The tunes come in about 10  different keys. Knowing that its possible to transpose on a PSR SX 900 I have got hold of a transposition chart.

If I have a piece of music written in the key of D  I know that the F and C notes should be played on the black sharp keys, If I press the transpose button twice can I then play the tune in the key of D as though it was in the key of C and not have to play the sharp black keys at all ?

Looking at the keyboard there seems to be two ways to transpose. There are the buttons near the live control section. Also in the menu section page 2 there is the option of transposing both the master and the keyboard section. I’m a bit baffled by this. Because I am a novice and only learning music there very slowly I tend to play the preset styles and play the one or two finger easy play chords.

What would be the best way for me to use this wonderful keyboard for me to take advantage of this transposition facility. ?

Thanks

Geoff

Re: Transposing on PSR SX 900 for Novice player.
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2022, 12:27:19 PM »
Hi, Geoff!

The main use of transposition is to be able to adjust the piece to the voice of the person you are accompanying (or to other instruments in a band).

Let me explain: suppose you are playing a piece in C (no flats nor sharps), and transpose +2 (two semitones up). The keyboard will sound as if you are playing two semitones higher, that is, when you play a C a D will sound; if you play an E, an F# (F-sharp) will sound. All the song will be transposed up!