Author Topic: DAW Advice Needed  (Read 2099 times)

Offline Nova227

DAW Advice Needed
« on: February 17, 2023, 01:18:09 PM »
 Looking for your ideas and experiences on which DAW ( Logic, Garage Band , Cubase , etc) to use with Sx 900 ?

Offline Michael Trigoboff

Re: DAW Advice Needed
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2023, 06:58:23 AM »
I am using Cubase very successfully with my Genos and Focusrite Scarlett 8i6. It all works great together.
retired software developer and Computer Science instructor
Grateful Deadhead emeritus

"He had decided to live forever or die in the attempt."
-- Joseph Heller, Catch-22

Offline Rick D.

« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2023, 11:30:34 AM »
Nova,

I use Cakewalk by Bandlab. It is now being offered for free. I have been using it for 20 years, it works great.

Rick D.

Offline Normanfernandez

« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2023, 02:20:11 PM »
Please State the reasons as to why you feel like you require a DAW.
Norman Fernandez Keyboardplayer
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCngm8h5k5NmKnowJpkxlDBQ

PSR S770 - Roland FP 30 - PSR 280
Cubase - Kontakt6

Offline Nova227

« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2023, 04:08:05 PM »

Here is the approach that I have seen and hoping to achieve.

1. Create and record your song on your PSR. It is now in the midi format.
2. Transfer the song to your PC with a USB stick
3. Open up the DAW software , and load the middle file.
4. When the midi files opens up, you will have all the tracks of the song that you recorded on the PSR in midi
5. Now you can use all the  tools in the DAW to do advanced editing  or recording of your song.
6. If your PSR is connected to your PC with the USB cable, you can set the DAW to play back the midi  data on your PC to your PSR.
7. Your DAW software will need to have an instrument definition file specific to your PSR so it knows what instruments to play on your PSR when it’s connected.