Author Topic: Mobilesheets vs fakebooks, connecting to registrations, ease of use, scale-able  (Read 4076 times)

Offline jcm2016

Hello,

My PSR SX900 is my first arranger keyboard and I'm starting to get my arms around registrations and playlists.  Thank you to everyone here for the posts and the Lessons section.

I have several paper fake books and am just starting to gather registrations to go along with particular songs.  I can see this becoming a cumbersome and physical process - getting the right fake book, right page, etc.

Since I'm at the beginning of the road, the concept of digital sheet music that connects to registrations is appealing.  It seems that mobilesheets can do this.  It also seems to be quite fiddly!  From looking on the mobilesheets site, these forums, and on the web, I'm thinking there will be a lot of setup frustration.  I've never worked with Midi files, or transferring data.  I just want it to work and be simple! 

I'm not a gigging musician, everything is for my own fun.  I have limited time to spend on music in general, whether that is taken up with technology items or digging through fake books.  I'm trying to think long term - might the up front hassle with mobilesheets be worth it?  What if mobile sheets goes out of business or is bought by someone else?  Would everything be tied to them?  It would seem I have the most control with paper, but obviously the most cumbersome.

For those of you that have been doing this for ages, if you could start fresh today (my position), how would you structure and connect your registration library with your sheet music library?

Many thanks in advance!

Offline ton37

Hi jcm2016.