PSR Keyboards (11 Boards) > PSR-SX900/SX700/SX600

Basic questions on registrations and songs

(1/3) > >>

jcm2016:
Hello,

I'm new to the world of keyboards, having purchased my PSR SX 900 a couple months ago.  Loving it so far!

I have some questions about songs and registrations.

1.  The keyboard came with some preloaded songs (9 or so).  Are these essentially just registrations that Yamaha have preloaded and also have lyrics and score files connected to them?

2.  I see references here to registrations being available for free.  Is the idea that someone has thought about a style, voices and other settings that work with a particular song, and give that away?  Is it correct that I'd need to source the sheet music somewhere else (or just know the song)?  I think in principle someone could include a file with the score and/or lyrics, but is that not common?

I purchased some registrations along with sheet music from Strawberry.  I've really enjoyed that and it has helped me explore the keyboard.  The registrations are simply the settings, not lyrics or score.  I've just started tweaking them.

Since I'm new to arranger keyboards (not new to piano or music in general), I wish I could find a guide that goes all the way back to the beginning of how to use an arranger keyboard.  I've looked at all the videos mentioned here for tutorials, and while  super helpful, I feel like I'm missing some basics (thus my questions).

Many thanks in advance!

Toril S:
On the main PSR TUTORIAL site press the tab lessons. Very useful  ! All functions of the Yamaha arranger keyboards are explained there.

DerekA:
A Song is actually a MIDI file, which is industry standard - it contains the notes for the song, arranged across a number of channels or parts. On a Yamaha arranger, when it plays back you can call up a score view which effectively reads the MIDI file and shows the "sheet music" live on the screen. Some MIDI also have lyrics embedded.