Author Topic: PSR SX900 mic input problem  (Read 3904 times)

rcoate

PSR SX900 mic input problem
« on: March 07, 2021, 06:21:14 PM »
Hello,

I'm trying to use my PSR SX900 keyboard with the iSolo Prime wireless mic to record my flugelhorn, accompanying MIDI playback. On first attempt, the keyboard seemed to be adding both a harmonizing and a distortion effect, which I somehow got turned off and made a couple of great recordings.

After a power cycle to the keyboard, the harmonizing and distortion effects came back. Got the harmonizing turned off, but can't find where to disable the distortion effect. Attempted recordings sound horrible with all the distortion.

Any ideas on where to turn off the distortion effect for the mic input? Have tried everything I can find.

Or perhaps there is something else I'm not finding that is driving the mic input to distortion?

I'm a completely new/beginner musician, have only been playing the flugelhorn for 4 months and same with the keyboard, please forgive my lack of knowledge!

Thanks for any suggestions!

Offline overover

Re: PSR SX900 mic input problem
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2021, 08:29:03 PM »
Hi rcoate,

welcome to the PSR Tutorial forum!

Your microphone (iSolo Prime) probably outputs not a signal with a usual Microphone level but it is probably more of a Line level.

Set the MIC/GUITAR switch (on the back of the SX900) to MIC position and turn the GAIN knob (next to the MIC/GUITAR INPUT socket) all the way down (to MIN position). Then test again:

On the "iSolo Prime" I would set both GAIN knobs ("Wireless" and "Master") at Center position (0 dB) for the first tests.

On the SX900 call up the Mic Setting display via [MENU] > [Mic Setting].

Adjust the [GAIN] knob on the rear panel while singing/playing into the microphone.
Adjust the [GAIN] knob so that the input level meter on the display lights in green or yellow.