Author Topic: Is it okay to Defrag the User Drive (memory)???  (Read 2410 times)

Offline Depo1964

Is it okay to Defrag the User Drive (memory)???
« on: February 10, 2021, 04:06:22 PM »
I was having a problem last night trying to update a User Style ....
when I ran a Windows 7 Defrag Analyze against it, the User Drive was 70% fragmented.
Thx.

Offline Normanfernandez

Re: Is it okay to Defrag the User Drive (memory)???
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2021, 05:02:17 PM »
If the hard drive is used on the laptop / pc only.
A defrag is good for the hard disk.
 Never defrag a SSD. 
Also make sure to delete files that are not necessary. Then you can perform a defrag.

I do it almost every week on my PC.
Norman.
Norman Fernandez Keyboardplayer
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCngm8h5k5NmKnowJpkxlDBQ

PSR S770 - Roland FP 30 - PSR 280
Cubase - Kontakt6

Argento

« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2021, 06:43:49 PM »
Can't be of many help on this forum (yet), because im a noob on music, but that is IT , and on there yes, i have enough knowledge  to give some advice.

Basically there are many methods for storing information (optical, tape drive, etc) , in this case, we are discussing about two, magnetic based (HDD) and memory based (SSD / USB Stick).

fragmentation is an empty space between 2 files, that later is filled with part of another file, then the file is fragmented in at least 2 parts, the empty space betwen that 2 files, and another free space of the media... if you have luck, that file will only splitted in two... usually is splitted in MANY parts.. 20 or even more more, that free space is created when you, (or the operating system/program) removes a file, so a free space is created on the media, of the size of that file, (sectors in a magnetic HDD , memory cells on a memory based media)