Author Topic: Poor Man’s Clavinova  (Read 2592 times)

Offline guitpic1

Poor Man’s Clavinova
« on: December 13, 2020, 06:50:12 PM »
I decided to MIDI my Roland RD2000(as Master) to my Genos(as slave).  I’m using a regular midi cable...out on RD2000 to in on Genos.  I’m doing this to be able play on my Genos using a weighted keyboard.

My goal has been to use the keyboard on my RD2000 to control styles on the Genos.  Turns out Genos makes that part easy.  Just go to chords in the midi section and select the appropriate port.

Thing is, now all 88 keys on my Roland control styles; there is no split on the Roland keyboard which would allow me to play styles on the left side of the Roland keys and individual notes on the right side of the keyboard.

So I’m researching what I can re:midi and the two keyboards I midi’d together.  I’m no expert in MIDI but am learning.

I don’t plan to gig with this combo...just playing for my own enjoyment.

Any thoughts, comments are welcome.

😊

guitpic1

For me, the goal is to keep growing/learning.

Offline mikf

Re: Poor Man’s Clavinova
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2020, 08:01:48 PM »
I think you should be able to split the keyboard. I believe it’s set up on the Genos by selecting the correct midi set up.
Mike

Offline Dromeus

« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2020, 10:14:17 PM »
You don't need a split on the Roland RD2000 or any other master keyboard you might connect to Genos. In the Genos MIDI setup just make sure to assign the Keyboard Part to the MIDI receive channel used to listen to the RD2000. Then all the Genos key settings regarding Style, Left and Right Parts are followed.
Regards, Michael

Offline overover

« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2020, 10:21:03 PM »
I decided to MIDI my Roland RD2000(as Master) to my Genos(as slave).  I’m using a regular midi cable...out on RD2000 to in on Genos.  I’m doing this to be able play on my Genos using a weighted keyboard.