Author Topic: Value of Drum Kits  (Read 1348 times)

Offline Steve_Kelley

Value of Drum Kits
« on: August 20, 2020, 04:25:20 PM »
As a new keyboard player of two months from the piano world, I'm trying to understand the value of the Drum Kit voices. As a hobbyist, I don't see much value in them. (Of course, the only thing I think you can do with them is substitute as a drummer when playing with a group which is not my future. My understanding of their use may be a little primitive.)

The urgency of my questioning their value is that I've run out of voice wave space for expansion packs. What is apparent is that drum kits hog a lot of space, so I'm thinking of deleting them from my expansion pack installation. I'm perfectly content to just have the preset drum kits. My only fear is that I'm not sure if this causes any problems.

Are drum kits completely independent entities or do other things, most particularly styles, depend on them? If I delete a kit, will some styles lose some of their drum sounds? If so, is there an easy way to determine which styles use which drum kits?

Thanks in advance for any enlightenment that you can give me on this topic.

Offline Joe H

Re: Value of Drum Kits
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2020, 05:03:47 PM »
Expansion packs that include styles will use the expansion pack drum kits with different percussion sounds not found in other drum kits.  If you delete those drum kits you may not find a preset drum kit that will play correctly.

Joe H
Music is the Universal Language!

My Article: Using Multi Pads in registrations. Download Regs, Styles & MPs:  http://psrtutorial.com/music/articles/dancemusic.html

The following users thanked this post: Steve_Kelley

Offline overover

« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2020, 06:26:10 PM »
Hi Steve,

first of all,