Author Topic: Genos & Montage combo setup  (Read 4001 times)

George B

Genos & Montage combo setup
« on: July 18, 2020, 08:49:07 AM »
Hi all

Noob here. Thanks for any assistance upfront. I have a Genos for arrangement and Montage 8 for sound design. What's the best way of connecting the two devices to get the most out of it? I've read some stuff about MIDI between the Genos and ModX but is been 20 years since I last used MIDI and it's almost Greek to me. I'm specifically talking about setting up the channels etc and what it means. Sorry - and thanks.

Genos - 71 key
Montage - 81 key

George

Bachus

Re: Genos & Montage combo setup
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2020, 06:44:40 PM »
Hi all

Noob here. Thanks for any assistance upfront. I have a Genos for arrangement and Montage 8 for sound design. What's the best way of connecting the two devices to get the most out of it? I've read some stuff about MIDI between the Genos and ModX but is been 20 years since I last used MIDI and it's almost Greek to me. I'm specifically talking about setting up the channels etc and what it means. Sorry - and thanks.

Genos - 71 key
Montage - 81 key

George

Montage under.. Genos upper position..

Both genos and Montage connected to the PC over USB ..
Then use your daw to send the midi out of the montage to midi in of the Genos, so you can controll the chords of the arranger from the montage ( i use midi channel 15)

If you want to controll chords from the montage all you need to do is create a channel that sends midi out on channel 15..

The Montage functions as an audio interface for your daw.....
Connect the montage audio out to the genos audio in
Connect the speakers to your Genos..

George B

« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2020, 07:25:36 PM »
Thanks. I'll try that. 👍

Offline EB5AGV

« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2020, 09:31:48 AM »
Montage under.. Genos upper position..

Both genos and Montage connected to the PC over USB ..