Author Topic: Style effects  (Read 2589 times)

shuey

Style effects
« on: May 11, 2020, 08:07:46 PM »
Forgive me for asking a rookie question, i am fairly new to the sx900, but is there any way i can change which channel in the style and/or which effect for that channel  for EACH variation or are the variations (which type as well as which channel) locked for all 4 variations? And if yes, how?

Offline Joe H

Re: Style effects
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2020, 08:20:32 PM »
Yes it's possible by creating a special MIDI template. But I'm curious... why would you want to do that? It just complicates things.

Joe H
Music is the Universal Language!

My Article: Using Multi Pads in registrations. Download Regs, Styles & MPs:  http://psrtutorial.com/music/articles/dancemusic.html

shuey

« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2020, 08:50:17 PM »
Allow me to give a example, if i were to create a style and use chord 1 and 2 for guitars (both with effects) in variation A, then lets say in variation B i wanted to use only one guitar and use the other effect for a synth or i dont know what, that would not be possible

Offline panos

« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2020, 09:35:09 PM »
Hi shuey,
style parts(channels) are independent from variation to variation or fill in or intro or ending.
So you can have in Main A a piano voice in chord 1
                   and in Main B a guitar voice in chord 1.

For the effects see page 105 of reference manual because on the SX900 you can have more options for using effects with style parts than previous models:
https://uk.yamaha.com/files/download/other_assets/7/1279207/psrsx900_sx700_en_rm_a0.pdf

I think there is also a way to have totally different effects from Variation to Variation if you create two or more similar styles with different effects to each one of them and move between the parts with the registration buttons, although I have never try to see if some DSP effects could cause a problem when they change.

« Last Edit: May 11, 2020, 09:38:44 PM by panos »