Author Topic: Rhythm Stop  (Read 3444 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Colin D

Rhythm Stop
« on: April 17, 2020, 04:26:56 PM »
Hi Folks,

I have a question about stopping Rhythm when playing by selecting the next registration.  In one of my songs I'm playing  in Registration 1, then when I select Registration 2, I have the rhythm stopped, or so it seems.  Then when I proceed to select registration 3 to re start the rhythm and play on I find I have to wait because the Stopped registration in Reg-2 is still running in the back ground and then re starts on the down beat. 

Is there a way to force a stop, but keep the left hand chord playing, and the rhythm re starts on playing a new chord on the left? - I know there is a tempo reset, can this be tagged to a registration?

Many thanks

Colin
Previous, Technics E44, E66, U90, G7, GX7 G100, Tyros 2, Tyros 5, now Genos,

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNozAL1Whf-t4TJY5wPK57Q
 

Offline vanzee

Re: Rhythm Stop
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2020, 04:40:22 PM »
Wouldn't that work by muting the rhytm instead of stopping ?
and store this in a registration.
Best Regards
Eddy Vanzee
 
The following users thanked this post: Colin D

Offline Fred Smith

Re: Rhythm Stop
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2020, 04:59:04 PM »
I have a question about stopping Rhythm when playing by selecting the next registration.  In one of my songs I'm playing  in Registration 1, then when I select Registration 2, I have the rhythm stopped, or so it seems.  Then when I proceed to select registration 3 to re start the rhythm and play on I find I have to wait because the Stopped registration in Reg-2 is still running in the back ground and then re starts on the down beat. 

Is there a way to force a stop, but keep the left hand chord playing, and the rhythm re starts on playing a new chord on the left? - I know there is a tempo reset, can this be tagged to a registration?

You can't store a tempo reset in a registration.

I think Eddy has the best idea -- just mute the style in Reg2.

Cheers,
Fred
Fred Smith,
Saskatoon, SK
Sun Lakes, AZ
Genos, Bose L1 compacts, Finale 2015
Check out my Registration Lessons
 
The following users thanked this post: Colin D

Offline Colin D

Re: Rhythm Stop
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2020, 05:35:27 PM »
Wouldn't that work by muting the rhytm instead of stopping ?
and store this in a registration.

Hi Eddy,

Thank you for the suggestion,  May I ask how to mute the style please?

Kind Regards

Colin
Previous, Technics E44, E66, U90, G7, GX7 G100, Tyros 2, Tyros 5, now Genos,

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNozAL1Whf-t4TJY5wPK57Q
 

Offline Fred Smith

Re: Rhythm Stop
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2020, 05:41:01 PM »

Thank you for the suggestion,  May I ask how to mute the style please?


1. Load your registration (R2)
2. Go to the Mixer, Pan/Volume, set the style to 0.
3. Memorize your registration.

Don't be surprised that once you see the mixer, it's amazing the stuff you can do.

Cheers,
Fred
Fred Smith,
Saskatoon, SK
Sun Lakes, AZ
Genos, Bose L1 compacts, Finale 2015
Check out my Registration Lessons
 
The following users thanked this post: Colin D

Offline Colin D

Re: Rhythm Stop
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2020, 05:59:47 PM »
1. Load your registration (R2)
2. Go to the Mixer, Pan/Volume, set the style to 0.
3. Memorize your registration.

Don't be surprised that once you see the mixer, it's amazing the stuff you can do.

Cheers,
Fred

thanks Fred, 

I use the mixer on occasions, I will try it out,

cheers

Colin

Previous, Technics E44, E66, U90, G7, GX7 G100, Tyros 2, Tyros 5, now Genos,

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNozAL1Whf-t4TJY5wPK57Q
 

Offline Colin D

Re: Rhythm Stop
« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2020, 07:22:10 PM »
Wouldn't that work by muting the rhytm instead of stopping ?
and store this in a registration.

It sort of works, the trouble is when you punch back in it does not reset the rhythm,  I have setup one of the switches on my FC7 pedal to turn on/off the percussion.  That works for now,

Thanks all,

Regards

Colin
Previous, Technics E44, E66, U90, G7, GX7 G100, Tyros 2, Tyros 5, now Genos,

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNozAL1Whf-t4TJY5wPK57Q
 

Online overover

Re: Rhythm Stop
« Reply #7 on: April 17, 2020, 07:48:17 PM »
It sort of works, the trouble is when you punch back in it does not reset the rhythm,  I have setup one of the switches on my FC7 pedal to turn on/off the percussion.  That works for now, ...

Hi Colin,

to my knowledge you cannot STOP the Style by pressing a Reg button. You can only MUTE the Style (set the Style volume OR the volume of certain Style PARTS to zero.)

I would stop the Style manually (or by a Foot Switch, as mentioned by you). In the next (or next but one) Registration, you can memorize the Style SYNC START, so that you have a well-defined beginning after the "style-less" part of your song.

If you don't need to play the Left Voice during the "style-less" part, you can STOP the Style by pressing the Style SYNC START button, of course. ;)

Another idea: You could set the Left split point higher than the Style split point. (Splitpoints can be changed via Registrations.) Then you can play the Left voice in a separate key range (between Chord and Right key range). Now you could use the SYNC START button to STOP the Style (as mentioned before) but could continue playing with the Left voice without reactivating the style.


Best regards,
Chris
« Last Edit: April 17, 2020, 09:35:38 PM by overover »
Everyone always said: "This is not possible!" - Then someone came and ... just did it!
 
The following users thanked this post: Colin D

Offline Colin D

Re: Rhythm Stop
« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2020, 09:25:08 PM »
Thanks Chris,

That's a neat idea,

Kind Regards

Colin
Previous, Technics E44, E66, U90, G7, GX7 G100, Tyros 2, Tyros 5, now Genos,

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNozAL1Whf-t4TJY5wPK57Q
 

Offline Fred Smith

Re: Rhythm Stop
« Reply #9 on: April 17, 2020, 09:35:17 PM »
It sort of works, the trouble is when you punch back in it does not reset the rhythm,  I have setup one of the switches on my FC7 pedal to turn on/off the percussion.  That works for now

If you want the rhythm to stop, then put and ending, like end1, in the reg.

Then it will be ready to go when you switch to the next reg.

You can see all these tricks in my registration videos.

Cheers,
Fred
« Last Edit: April 19, 2020, 08:50:24 PM by Fred Smith »
Fred Smith,
Saskatoon, SK
Sun Lakes, AZ
Genos, Bose L1 compacts, Finale 2015
Check out my Registration Lessons
 
The following users thanked this post: Colin D

Online overover

Re: Rhythm Stop
« Reply #10 on: April 17, 2020, 09:42:36 PM »
If you want the rhythm to stop, then put an ending, like end1, in the reg.

Then it will be ready to go when you switch to the next reg.


A very good tip, Fred. Thank you!

In combination with temporary "muting" the Style (when pressing a certain Reg button) and memorizing "Sync Start" to a Reg (for the next "normal" Style start), this should work perfectly. :)


Best regards
« Last Edit: April 17, 2020, 10:04:08 PM by overover »
Everyone always said: "This is not possible!" - Then someone came and ... just did it!
 

Offline Colin D

Re: Rhythm Stop
« Reply #11 on: April 18, 2020, 11:26:59 AM »
My FC7 pedal switch mod, its 3D printed, quite easy to make,  I can share the details if anyone is interested,
Previous, Technics E44, E66, U90, G7, GX7 G100, Tyros 2, Tyros 5, now Genos,

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNozAL1Whf-t4TJY5wPK57Q
 
The following users thanked this post: KeyboardByBiggs

Re: Rhythm Stop
« Reply #12 on: April 19, 2020, 03:08:29 PM »
My FC7 pedal switch mod, its 3D printed, quite easy to make,  I can share the details if anyone is interested,

Yes!
Check Out My YouTube Channel! https://goo.gl/edbXFS
 

Offline Colin D

Re: Rhythm Stop
« Reply #13 on: April 19, 2020, 07:32:42 PM »
Previous, Technics E44, E66, U90, G7, GX7 G100, Tyros 2, Tyros 5, now Genos,

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNozAL1Whf-t4TJY5wPK57Q
 

Offline Colin D

Re: Rhythm Stop
« Reply #14 on: April 19, 2020, 07:33:02 PM »
Previous, Technics E44, E66, U90, G7, GX7 G100, Tyros 2, Tyros 5, now Genos,

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNozAL1Whf-t4TJY5wPK57Q
 

Offline Colin D

Re: Rhythm Stop
« Reply #15 on: April 19, 2020, 07:34:54 PM »


You have to drill a few holes and mount a V4 micro switch on each set.  the wiring is simple and routed around the pedal hinge to allow for flexing of the wires.

PM me if you want a copy of the CAD file for printing,
Previous, Technics E44, E66, U90, G7, GX7 G100, Tyros 2, Tyros 5, now Genos,

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNozAL1Whf-t4TJY5wPK57Q
 

Re: Rhythm Stop
« Reply #16 on: April 20, 2020, 06:00:21 AM »
That's pretty cool!
Check Out My YouTube Channel! https://goo.gl/edbXFS