Author Topic: Import styles from old PSR 630 into a PSR E463  (Read 3497 times)

Therioux

Import styles from old PSR 630 into a PSR E463
« on: March 28, 2020, 08:21:16 AM »
Hi. I just recently bought a PSR E463. Overall is a great middle level keyboard.

I have been using a PSR 630 since 15 years ago, so i was thinking if is possible to bring some styles and voices from PSR 630 into the new keyboard that i just got.

If is possible, where do i get the PSR 630 library of voices and styles to download them?

Thanks in advance.

Offline Bruce Breen

Re: Import styles from old PSR 630 into a PSR E463
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2020, 03:38:19 PM »
I clicked on the PSR Tutorial Support link (above right), and went to Styles, Yamaha, & clicked on the PSR-730 button (oldest, closest thing to 630).
Here is the link:  https://psrtutorial.com/sty/yamaha/psr-730.html

If you read the page you will see several options to download the styles, which have been altered to play on the 2000 & 3000.
(Note that they seem to be altered to have 4 variations, rather than just the 2 original variations on the 630 - vari A & C, and B & D will be the same).
These are all SFF1 style versions, which should play relatively well on your SFF2 keyboard.

Also on the site, under Styles, Collections Tab, I would suggest clicking on Onacimus' Conversions - read the page and decide which is best for you to download. He has converted SFF1 & SFF2 versions of all the 'old' styles, however they may be mixed in with other keyboards' styles, so you may have to search them out...

The only other thing you could do is copy all the files from your 630 (I assume you still have it) onto floppies, and then with a floppy reader (with USB connection) transfer them to a computer, then copy them to a USB for transfer to your keyboard. But as the page above's info indicates, some of the styles will have voices missing...

Hope this helps...
« Last Edit: March 29, 2020, 02:39:04 PM by Bruce Breen »
Bruce Breen