Author Topic: Hello, from Zoot and Janice.  (Read 1999 times)

Genos!

Hello, from Zoot and Janice.
« on: February 12, 2020, 11:43:59 AM »
I have played music for years, mostly as a 'Big Band' member. My instructor played with "the greats". He was 60 some years older and was my band leader for over 10 years. We had a great thing going (the band). He also played sax and clarinet. I was, very, very fortunate to have a full-time dedicated teacher.

District, Regional, States, yada-yada... Swing, dance, concert, orchestra, marching bands... I stayed busy and it not only kept me out of trouble, but gave me purpose.  I had been playing in various school bands along with other external bands (not school bands), and moved onto variety bands when I graduated.

I played in a club once for about a month and a half playing all of the top 40 hits from the 60's through the 70's (before disco). I couldn't stomach watching others; the excess drinking, womanizing, etc., it just wasn't my 'scene'.

I started playing at the age of 7, was in at least 3 bands all of my life while in school. At the age of 27, I moved on to become a Sr. Systems Programmer/Analyst. I'm retired over 10 years with my wife and our focus is music.

I play sax and clarinet, and my wife is blond and plays guitar -- Zoot and Janice. We own and play flute, alto recorder, guitar, mandolin, and keys. I also own and play a Yamaha WX5 Wind synth MIDI controller.

We own a recording studio comprised of various gear. The main items being a VS-2480 24-track mixer/recorder, MOTU 896mk3Hy 32 channel i/o interface, 8 port MOTU MTP/AV Timepiece, Axon guitar midi, TC-Helicon VoiceLive Rack harmonizer, GSP-1101 guitar processor, Mackie studio monitors, various microphones, software DAWs and VSTs, and keyboards; Casio Workstation, Korg Triton, Roland FA-08, and now the Yamaha Genos.