Author Topic: Hissing noise from the line outs  (Read 22977 times)

Offline jugge

Hissing noise from the line outs
« on: November 01, 2019, 07:46:28 PM »
Hi,

I just recorded some audio tracks from Genos to my Yamaha AG06 audio interface, using the line outs.
I however discovered that there was some noise in the recording as well.

It's like a hissing/humming noise and it was especially noticed in the more quite parts of the recording.

I also did some test with a condenser microphone directly connected to the audio interface and that was recorded fine without the hissing noise.

Should I get a soundcard with digital inputs instead or could the noise be caused by the unbalanced cables that I am using?
I am not sure switching to balanced cables would help though, because I believe that Genos are using unbalanced outputs.

On another forum, someone suggested getting a di-box, but I have no experience using one of those.

What are your experience with recording audio to an external audio interface?

Cheers
/Jugge
Welcome to Yamaha Beats. Genos and MODX covers on YouTube.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9yKCzqlOhkulwHFF6P-_Vw

Offline rbackes

Re: Hissing noise from the line outs
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2019, 09:12:07 PM »
Hi Jugge,

I had the same problems when connecting the Genos to an Audio-Interface (USB) that is connected to a Laptop or similar computer. When connecting the interface to a 'big' computer, the noise disappears. My guess is the following: Laptops and similar devices (I have an Intel NUC) with external power supplies usually only have a 2-wire connection to the power supply. The power supply might have a ground connection, but that is not handed over to the computer.
With a Laptop, you can proove that easily: just run it from its battery (disconnect power supply) and the noise will at least decrease.