Author Topic: Studio Recording Gig With Genos.  (Read 35637 times)

Offline Pianoman

Studio Recording Gig With Genos.
« on: September 29, 2019, 04:13:48 PM »
Hello Everyone.

First I would like to offer apologies in case this is not the right section to ask these questions.

I have been booked for a 14 day studio recording session this November in Germany,
where I am expected to deliver 40 songs on 3 CDs.

They mostly want me to play and sing Motown Soul, Some Blues and Jazz, and also Caribbean
covers.
They will hire a Genos there for me, so I was thinking of just putting all my work and Genos
settings on a USB stick that I will take with me.
They also said that there's a Korg Kronos there, which I guess should be sufficient for piano work.

I have a few questions to ask here though, and hope that someone can advise me.

1) What is the copyright policy regarding using Yamaha styles in a commercial studio?
For example, not being a drummer myself, can I just use the drum or bassline parts of a
particular style for recording?

2) How does one individually connect each of the 8 accompaniment tracks to a studio
mixing desk?

3) I have never used Midi Files, but thanks to our good friend Gary and others here too,
I have downloaded thousands of Midi Files, which contain many of the required cover songs.

As I'm required to deliver 40 songs on 3 CDs within 14 days, was thinking of using the Midi Files
as a shortcut or guide to help with instruments that are difficult to reproduce, like the Wah Wah
guitar on "Shaft" or on "Papa Was A Rolling Stone." for example.

Would that be legal in regard to copyright law, and how does one go about connecting the 16
Midi channels individually to a mixing desk?

They apparently have a top class sound engineer over there, but I consider that folks here are
more knowledgeable about all things Yamaha.

Any advice is highly appreciated.

Best Regards.
Abby.

« Last Edit: September 29, 2019, 04:22:18 PM by Pianoman »

Offline Joe H