Author Topic: Learning Path  (Read 5503 times)

3dc

Learning Path
« on: August 10, 2019, 07:35:09 AM »
I wonder what learning path would you guys recommend for a complete newbie.
It seems to me everyone is pushing for portable 88 weighted keys piano and only then move to keyboards. Other are suggesting to go for a cheap keyboard first and then go for piano. In my case the end goal is to make some simple music not to perform professionally on stage. Will I miss something big if I skip piano and go directly for keyboard?

Thanks for help.   

SeaGtGruff

Re: Learning Path
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2019, 08:19:05 AM »
It can be a question of one's goals, or it can be a question of one's preferences.

If your goal is to learn to play the piano, then you really need the most piano-like keyboard that you can afford, in terms of the shape of the keys ("box" versus "diving board"), the action of the keys (weighted versus unweighted), and the number of keys (88 versus 76 or 61). In general, it can be more difficult to learn to play on unweighted diving board keys and then try to play an actual piano, because you won't be used to the action of the keys.

If you don't intend to ever play the piano, then it's more a question of which type of keyboard you prefer. If a 61-key instrument with unweighted diving board keys has the sorts of features that you're most interested in, then go for it. :)

Offline mikf

« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2019, 10:02:55 AM »
It’s much easier and quicker to reach the point of making listenable music on an arranger type keyboard. That is the basic attraction of these keyboards for adult learners. They all have lightweight keys.
 A decent entry level arranger will have less features than the top level, and not sound quite as good, but still more than  enough for starters - and maybe  forever. They all have lightweight keys.