Author Topic: What keyboard would you recommend to me?  (Read 341887 times)

3dc

What keyboard would you recommend to me?
« on: July 24, 2019, 09:54:28 PM »
As I told in my introduction I am a complete beginner in music but I am eager to learn so I am looking for music tools that will grow with my learning process. Eventually I am hoping to make some serious film score for 3d animation and PC games. So its quite important for me that I have a solid KEYBOARD to PC workflow and plenty of high quality instruments from start. I picked Cockos Reaper and Audacity as my basic DAWs and now I am looking something from Yamaha PSR family for a (professional) keyboard.

Right now I can get a really good deal for YAMAHA PSR-S670 but I am not sure if its a good long term fit for me. I can save for month or two and get PSR-S775 but it looks to me as a slight overkill for a complete newbie. Or should I go with the cheapest PSR-E363? I must say that I really like the S670 but I am worried its already outdated. I read in other forums its not really a professional keyboard since it lacks some key features for serious music production. Also I don't see many resources and YT videos for this particular keyboard.

The other options are proper synthesizer workstations but as a beginner I am "flying blind" about them. Korg Kross 2-61, Roland Juno-DS 61 and Yamaha MX61 V2 Black are in my immediate reach while I would have to wait for some months for Yamaha MX88 and Yamaha MODX6.

So many choices.... What would you recommend for me?

Thanks in advance for help! :)

Online Graham UK

Re: What keyboard would you recommend to me?
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2019, 10:21:27 PM »
3dc. Check my T2 For Sale. It would serve your requirements at a low cost.
DGX670

Offline EileenL

« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2019, 10:47:58 PM »
I think you would be better with the 770 or 775 as these are latter keyboards and will allow you to do a little more.

ekurburski

« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2019, 12:36:00 AM »