Author Topic: Differences between Genos and PSR975  (Read 5800 times)

Cheshire Chris

Differences between Genos and PSR975
« on: April 26, 2019, 07:54:33 AM »
Dear All,

I'm currently a pianist, but looking to buy myself an arranger workstation as a retirement gift to myself. I've been looking at both the PSR975 and the Genos. Both seem like excellent keyboards, but at my local music shop the Genos is almost 3x the price of the 975. I know the Genos has 76 keys rather than the 61 of the 975 and has better voice samples, but what else does it have which makes it worth the large additional cost?

Thanks,

Chris

Offline valimaties

Re: Differences between Genos and PSR975
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2019, 08:13:13 AM »
Hi Chris.
There are a couple of things additionally on Genos, like touch screen, Right3, Expansion memory capacity, Playlist function (which is better than MF IMO), number of keys, which already you mention it, Live Controls and Sliders, and first of all - The Sound.
You said that you are a piano player, so, first of all, the keys number is better for you!

Regards,
Vali

Vali Maties - Genos

Offline Simone1972

« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2019, 08:20:33 AM »
Dear Chris,
if you are a piano player, I think you need a "piano like" keyboard bed:
From my perspective a PSR S975 + Digital Piano + double stand would fit all your requirements.

Consider that you could connect via MIDI the two keyboards and play the arranger with 88keys !!

Regards

Cheshire Chris

« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2019, 08:30:13 AM »
I should have said that I already have a digital piano, Simone; a Yamaha P-515, which I enjoy playing very much. The keyboard isn't particularly a concern - I've played both a 975 and a Genos at my local music shop and both keyboards seem reasonable to me (with the Genos being considerably better in feel).

Fortunately I have room in my spare room for both my P-515 and an arranger keyboard :D.

Best wishes,

Chris

Offline stephenm52