Author Topic: Change the Key of a midi on the keyboard  (Read 6775 times)

Offline Amachado

Change the Key of a midi on the keyboard
« on: September 28, 2018, 12:21:32 PM »
Hi Everybody,

I'm a amateur home musician and recently purchased a PSR-S975. Now I have a commercial midi in a pen and want to change the musical key from D to C as this tone is more suitable for me. Tried to do this on keyboard on Utility/Midi section but without sucess. I believe this keyboard have the capacity to do this operation without using external software but I can not do it.
Can anyone help me?
Thanks a lot.

A. Machado

Offline Fred Smith

Re: Change the Key of a midi on the keyboard
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2018, 01:34:06 PM »
I'm a amateur home musician and recently purchased a PSR-S975. Now I have a commercial midi in a pen and want to change the musical key from D to C as this tone is more suitable for me. Tried to do this on keyboard on Utility/Midi section but without sucess. I believe this keyboard have the capacity to do this operation without using external software but I can not do it.
Can anyone help me?
Thanks a lot.

Just use the Transpose buttons. Make sure Transpose Assign (in Functions) is set to Song (or Master).

Cheers,
Fred
Fred Smith,
Saskatoon, SK
Sun Lakes, AZ
Genos, Bose L1 compacts, Finale 2015
Check out my Registration Lessons

Offline Amachado

« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2018, 12:22:43 PM »
Hi Fred,

Thanks for your help on this. However I must be doing something wrong as only the right hand (solo) is covered by the transpose effect. The left hand ( rhythmic side ) still pay on original chord D. is there any link, video or wherever where I can see the whole process from the moment I insert the pen into the keyboard? A kind of step-by-step?

Thanks Regards

Offline panos

« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2018, 12:42:37 PM »
Hi Amachado,
You just transposed only one channel.
You must transpose the rest channels also.
Look here for details: