Author Topic: Cakewalk INS file for PSR-S970  (Read 7235 times)

Offline beakybird

Cakewalk INS file for PSR-S970
« on: November 18, 2017, 03:26:28 PM »
Does anyone have an instrument definition file for the S970? I want to do some recording, and I have Cakewalk. Thanks

The following users thanked this post: slipper

pluto

Re: Cakewalk INS file for PSR-S970
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2018, 05:40:23 AM »
Hi everyone,

Breakybird, I have created a Sonar/Cakewalk INS file for the S970 over the last few days by modifying the S950 version by Bill Grosse and Heiko Plate (available on Jorgen’s jososoft website). I have attached it as a text file to upload into this forum, so remove the .txt extension. I am using the trial version of Sonar to determine if I can use it effectively, to decide if I will purchase a license.

A few notes about this S970 INS file:

1. I am a novice with INS files, so any mistakes are likely to be mine rather than the original authors. Any help from those with more experience to check it is okay is desirable. I have passed it through the INS checker on Jorgen’s website, and there are no errors, but that does not mean the INS file I have created is problem free.

2. I have not yet tested the INS file with Sonar because at this stage I am just using the trial version to see if I can use it effectively for my simple tasks. This is the ultimate test of whether it is working I would think. I did try an earlier version of the S970 INS file I created, and it did load. I realised it needed more work when I realised that I use voices from packs which I had not included in the INS file, so it was defaulting to other voices (e.g. Music Box when I was using the Violin Vib1 voice from the Church & Christmas pack).

3. Due to lack of knowledge, I have not touched the .Controller Names, .RPN Names, or .NRPN Names sections. I don’t know if these require changing for the S970, or how/what.