Author Topic: Welcome  (Read 557 times)

Offline Roger13

Welcome
« on: August 21, 2017, 05:56:04 AM »
Hello Members
My Name is Roger, I currently play a PSR S970, I am a newbi on this site. I am 81 years old this year in October, I played regular keyboard until 1997 when I retired after running my own outfit since 1952, a few of the guys had passed on and I was crippled up in my hands with Arthritis which makes playing a little troublesome sometimes. In 2012/3 I was asked by an old alto player of mine if I still had a keyboard as he needed help with  teaching of students which prompted me to buy a small keyboard an PSR E423 and start playing once more, this was upgraded in 2014 to a PSR S750 and this has been upgraded this year to a PSR S970.
I started playing in1947 with a classical teacher this was fine until 1950/1 when I purchased a copy 'April in Portugal' and asked him to play it. He refused saying it was not music to which I said its got treble & bass clefs on with notes etc so why is it not music he said he would never lower himself to play that kind of music, so I said in that case I'm leaving. I started work and met another Music teacher who was also playing for a Dance Band and asked him if he would teach me, within a few months he had me playing with a small quartet who's pianist was on leave, I never stopped after that and formed my own outfit in 1952 some of these guys stayed with me till1997. I still see these guys and the last time we performed together was Oct 2016 on my 80th birthday, I play mostly at home and on occasions at an OAPs
residential home not far from me, just for a couple of hours, so I must be mad as I'm older that most of the residents in the place. Nice to be here and get advice fro m the experts form time to time.
Best regards to you all
Roger

Re: Welcome
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2017, 09:32:12 AM »
Welcome Roger and thanks for the interesting biographical data. I know you will enjoy the site with the wealth of information here.