Author Topic: Hello all!  (Read 591 times)

Offline Tony-Psrs670

Hello all!
« on: July 05, 2017, 09:14:54 AM »
Hi Guys

I'm Tony. New to this forum, new to Yamaha products. (Apart from my wife's old 121 digital piano).

I'm a freelance music tutor (guitar + keyboard/piano + music theory/history) in bonnie Scotland. I've worked for the same 2 organisations for many years, and also do home lessons. I finally bought a psr-s670 after several months of looking at it and salivating on youtube. It was kind of a present to myself for making it through a tough final term and getting to the summer hols only mildly frazzled!

Over the years I've dabbled in midi and digital DAW type stuff, mainly through programmes like Band in a Box and Cubase, but I'm not very tech savvy. I've tended to play with these programmes a bit when I've got leisure time during the holidays. I then proceed to leave them alone for most of the rest of the year and forget almost everything I learned the previous summer! In fact the attraction of the 670 was its immediacy - great voices, great backing styles all at the touch of a few buttons. But I know there's a lot more that can be done with it than that.

My main interests are in building on my rather basic jazz piano skills, and in learning more about arrangement and orchestration. I'd also like to use the keyboard to showcase to some of my students the possibilities of computer/digital based music making. I have a few specific topics I'd be interested in learning more about. If anyone can help with these that'd be fabulous.

1) I've had tonnes of midi files on my computer for years. A lot of them are very good but not, obviously, optimised for the 670. I downloaded the MidiPlayer program as I think this is what it does? It asks you to choose your keyboard or, as the 670 isn't listed, the 'nearest' from the list. Can anyone tell me what this would be? Also, as these are files not necessarily generated from yamaha arrangers, should I set VOICE to GM?