PSR Keyboards (11 Boards) > PSR-E Series

Adding a Monitor to psr E425 for live performance

(1/3) > >>

Zundap:
Hi everyone. I play my E425 in the company of 2 singers ( one of which also plays a 12 string ). When the 2 lads are singing/playing I find it hard to hear my keyboard. I could boost the keyboard volume but then I overshadow the singers/guitar. Ideally I'd like a monitor facing toward me so I can hear myself play and at the same time hear what the other 2 lads are singing/playing. I get the sense the built in speakers of E425 are naturally pushing sound out to the audience so some small speaker/amp facing back at me is what might be a solution. Has anyone any ideas on this ? I'm a novice in the world of PA/Amps/monitors and therefore would welcome any suggestions. Thank you as Always. Kev

Lefty:
Hi Kev,

I use In Ear Monitors (IEM).  They reduce stage volume by over 20db, and let me set the volume of my guitar and vocals myself for my IEM.  They aren't inexpensive, but protect your hearing, as well as allowing you to control what you hear.  Monitors add to stage volume, and affect other band members.  Unless you have a sound man, they also make it difficult for band member running the mixer.

Craig

Zundap:
Thank you Craig. I hadn't thought of them. I will check them out.
Kev

pjd:
Hi Kev --

Naturally, you have some idea about the amount of volume needed, size, weight, cost, etc. Plus, will you ever want the ability to send sound out to an audience. In that case, what size room?

When I need just a little sound to my own ears (in a semi-acoustic situation with the church PA), I use either a BOSE Soundlink Color II or a Yamaha Stagepas 100BTR. Both are battery-powered. Both are pretty clean at low to moderate volume. Neither one has enough output for a hall or big room.