Genos (12 Boards) > Genos - General

Help wanted in Southwest Florida

(1/5) > >>

donmac875:
Hi everyone. I’m a fairly new member of the forum, a resident of sunny Florida on the southwest corner, somewhat close to the hurricane wrecked area of Sanibel Island and Ft Myers Beach. I would be in the running for the winner of a contest to determine the oldest active member of the forum; if the Lord leaves me here on earth another couple of months I’ll be just 6 years from having lived to be 100. Seeking to keep my mind active and learning new things is a joy but more and more challenging as age creeps on.

Compared to so many of you I am new at this musical arranger game and seeking assistance in some of what I would call the details of the inner workings of the Genos. I am not satisfied with the sounds produced from many of the styles I’m using and would like to learn to alter some to my liking and to create new ones.

I would also appreciate assistance in the tuning of settings in the Mixer, vocal sounds, how to effectively use Pads etc. I have read through the User Manual a half dozen times, printed out and read through the Reference Manual, read the entire PSRTutorial, watched videos on the subjects of “compression”, “EQ”, etc. but I am left with a jumble of settings that are meaningless because with my oftentimes senseless tinkling I’ve ruined something that now requires a reset to factory settings to be useful at all.

I also have a very high pitched squeal coming from the left speaker which I also hear in my headphones. I believe I have isolated it to Strings and Organ voices but I have no inclination as to how to proceed.

This, my first post, is made with great hope that some member of the forum resides somewhat close to where I am and would be willing to give personal assistance. I am certainly willing to respond with financial compensation. Suggestions, recommendations, or criticism are welcome as learning opportunities.