Author Topic: Newbie from Prestwick  (Read 549 times)

Offline Philmca1

Newbie from Prestwick
« on: October 17, 2017, 07:09:42 AM »
Hi folks, it's great to become part of your keyboard community. My name is Phil, from Prestwick and although I have played a bit of piano for a number of years, I am relatively new to the 'keyboard' scene. I have a Tyros 5 76 - ('cos of the piano background) - This is definitely waaayyy above my capabilities  :D - but I am hoping to have it for a while and will hopefully improve through time...I'ts a steep learning curve but I am enjoying the challenge so far and I look forward to learning a lot from the knowledge and experience that is out there😀

Phil

Offline MINKYCATS

Re: Newbie from Prestwick
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2017, 07:20:55 AM »
Hi Phil,

I too have  Tyros 5. Your piano playing will be of enormous benefit to you in mastering the Tyros 5. I was brought up on piano then organ then keyboard.

You already have many skills which will be an advantage and the great guys and gals on this forum will give you all the guidance and help you need to become a very proficient player.

Enjoy it all.

Trevor (MINKYCATS)
Yamaha AR100 organ:  Tyros 5 - 61
Previous: Hammond C3 with PR40 tone cabinet, Yamaha E30, Technics SX-EX60, Yamaha EL70, Technics KN7000 and others.

Offline PWB

« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2017, 08:05:44 AM »
Hello Phil,

I was in this position a year ago (although I decided to dip my feet in the water with a PSR970 before splashing out on a Tyros)

The best thing I did was to go to the Yamaha weekend which gave me a huge boost in understanding and got me started in building my repertoire.

Just stick with it and you will continually amaze yourself at what amazing songs you can produce. Also the Yamaha community and this forum are so helpful and supportive that you will realize that this is a major reason why people choose a Yamaha instrument.

Good luck and good playing

Paul
(PWB)

Offline Roger Brenizer