Author Topic: PSR-620 orchestration sync with Roland R-5 drum machine  (Read 1465 times)

Offline ah-ah

PSR-620 orchestration sync with Roland R-5 drum machine
« on: May 04, 2016, 02:17:15 PM »
Hello! I decided to register on this forum to ask some Yamaha PSR-620 related MIDI questions after hours of fiddling around. I recently bought my first drum machine, a Roland R-5. I'm wondering if I could get the drum beats and sounds from the drum machine (using a mixer of course) to play in sync with the auto accompaniment of my Yamaha PSR-620 keyboard (minus it's onboard drums).

I'm relatively new to MIDI in general, I can get sounds from the PSR-620 playing the pads of the R-5, as well as the Yamaha's demo (and recorded) songs in the tempo I set in the R-5 but what I'd like to do is get rhythm orchestration only like I can do by switching off the Yamaha's drum track when selecting instruments so that they are in sync with the R-5 but no luck so far, when I play chords with the fingered mode, only the "harmony sounds" play like it plays them when a beat isn't playing.

Also I haven't yet figured out how I can set a drum pad channel from the R-5 to play different sounds from the PSR-620, although this might come with more fiddling around with the settings. I'm mostly getting piano from all but one midi channel I select from the R-5, although every pad button has it's own other than piano sound on one channel.

I hope these explanations made any sense and hope to get some insight on the subject from you guys. The reason I got the drum machine in the first place was that I can make my own drum beats but I like the things I can do with the auto accompaniment of the Yamaha. Thanks!

Offline ah-ah

Re: PSR-620 orchestration sync with Roland R-5 drum machine
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2016, 12:19:16 PM »