Author Topic: Converting Midi to mp3  (Read 5537 times)

Offline Larry Warner

Converting Midi to mp3
« on: December 01, 2012, 06:14:09 AM »
Can someone tell me what is an excellent program to convert Midi's to mp3.

I know a lot of people do this and I am new at it.  what i have tried does not sound the same or as good
as the keyboard.  I have tried a "Free" program as that is probably what the cause is.

Can any one give me pointers on this project and what a good converter is??

Thanks

Larry
Larry

Offline Dave Nuttall

Re: Converting Midi to mp3
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2012, 06:24:53 AM »
Larry,
With your keyboard's "data list" in hand, download/install Jørgen Sørensen's "MIDI revoicer" and with your PC connected to your keyboard with a USB cable, you can HEAR what you change, then do a QuickRecord from the PC and you'll have your WAV enroute to MP3.

For best/cheapest results of changing WAV to MP3, use Audacity with Lame "plug-in" to export to whatever bit-rate MP3 you want.

PM or email me privately if you need/want one-to-one mentoring.

My email and phone number is in my public profile.

HTH.
Dave

PSR-S910, ProTools 12.x, Cubase AI5, Win10 & MacBook Pro, Digi-003 /Octane 8, BIAB-2016, Sibelius 7.5, MixMaster, PRSUTI, and lonely Baldwin SF-10

Offline Larry Warner

« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2012, 11:24:06 AM »
Hi Dave,
Thanks for the input.

I do have two problems  - 1 - I have an old keyboard as it is one of the first psr-2100 out.
                                      2 - The USB port on the keyboard is really useless I believe they put this on
                                            the keyboard just to have something else shown.

Thus I can not make anything more than the midi.

Larry
Larry

Offline Flip

« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2012, 01:09:01 PM »
Well...here is how I do it.
1.  Create the MIDI song file......adjust using the Mixing Consol as required.

2.  Now record the MIDI song file into a WAV file.