Author Topic: Screeching Strings  (Read 4137 times)

Offline geoff5798

Screeching Strings
« on: March 28, 2019, 03:51:48 PM »
Hi, I am a newbie. Whilst getting to know my PSR S775 I have been mainly using piano / organ types sounds. I have now been trying some string sounds such as the preset Concert strings and the studio strings. They sound really awful, a very hi pitched screeching sound , not very pleasant at all. Can anyone recommend any settings or tweaks I can make in in the EQ, voice Or settings, or any parameters so that the sound sweeter and more responsive.

Thanks
Geoff

The following users thanked this post: DerekA

Offline DerekA

Re: Screeching Strings
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2019, 07:53:14 PM »
Can you first check that the 'initial touch' button lit so that the keyboard is sensing how hard you are hitting the keys. If that's off it will assume full velocity which would indeed sound terrible.
Genos

Offline Graham UK

« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2019, 09:36:59 PM »
Geoff. You have not stated what your keyboard is using to output it's sound, maybe the speakers you are using. The Yamaha Satellites & Bass system gives highs & lows but does lack middle frequency which can result in the string sound you are getting.

Suggest you test using very good quality headphones to be able to hear direct from keyboards output.
DGX670

Offline panos

« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2019, 12:30:09 AM »
I use the release effect and combine string/orchestra sounds together and never a sound alone.
I don't use these two sounds much and prefer the live! strings and other orchestra sounds which are in the GM,GM2 and legacy folders (if still named that way in s775).

Live Strings! sound as a second sound at a lower volume usually makes the primary sound more..."sweet".

Also don't be afraid to test every effect in voice set to hear the difference that make to a any kind of sound.

And don't forget the harmony button.