Author Topic: Band in a Box and Genos  (Read 7792 times)

Offline Oldden

Band in a Box and Genos
« on: March 12, 2019, 11:37:41 AM »
Hi,
I know that Band in a Box and Yamaha styles are not normally  compatable. I just wondered if anybody has found anyway of converting them or knows of anything else useful in one of them that can be used in the other.
Oldden

Offline Luluc

Re: Band in a Box and Genos
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2019, 12:12:38 PM »
I'm a newbie on Genos arranger, but I know very well BIAB.
Both Yamaha arrangers and BIAB use styles having the .STY extension.

But, there is a huge difference : keep in mind that Yamaha arrangers use several bars of a MIDI data for the A section for example. Let's say 8 bars for the A section.
In BIAB, you do not have any 8-bar A section. You have several - up to 200 or more cells - cells of 1-bar or 2-bar length. So, you will to assemble these cells to get a 8-bar section. But, in these cells, you will have a postfill bar, you will have dedicated cells for a given chord, many cells for bar#1, many cells for bar#2...or a for a given bass line...We call that 'masks'.

Furthermore, a BIAB styles has only two variations (A & B), two endings and you have no intros.

The approach of the two systems are really different. Just recall that BIAB is NOT a real-time arranger.

So, converting BIAB styles to Genos styles can be done, but it can't be done well.
Luluc
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Yamaha Genos - Focusrite Scarlett 8i6 - Behringer FCB1010 - AKG K92

The following users thanked this post: mikenova, hans1966, Oldden

Offline markstyles

« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2019, 08:17:42 PM »
I've used BIAB since the 90's.  Long before I bought a Tyros 3, my first arranger.  You can use BIAB 'sty' files but like Luluc said, the differences in design of two programs may not be that useful.