Author Topic: Making Music  (Read 4122 times)

Aquarius

Making Music
« on: January 21, 2019, 09:25:08 PM »
Hi everyone! I'm mainly a macOS software developer, but I have a hobby of creating/recording instrumental pop songs.  My usual process with my PSR-S770 (and the PSR-S700 I had before it) was to use the built in multi-track sequencer and styles. Save the songs to a USB flash drive. Transfer that to my iMac.  Drag the MIDI files into GarageBand.  Reassign instruments (because GarageBand doesn't have the same instruments or sometimes gets thing completely wrong).  And then visually do any editing or mixing there.  It is a long process and I'm not so great at mixing so I started to build up this backlog of songs. There are others, but one problem is that there are some instruments that just sound better on the PSR-S770 than what GarageBand can do... not so much the quality of the sound itself but how it adapts to how you play and creates more realism (in some of the saxophone sounds for example) and so I was never quite happy with the end result.

Even though I've had the PSR-S770 for some time now (long enough for some of the style variation buttons to start to go - which was a problem with my PSR-S700 as well).  I never actually played with the new audio recording feature on the keyboard and so recently decided to experiment a bit with it.  The experiment went well and I found that I can rather easily export a single instrument track from a MIDI sequencer recording with it and then could import that audio into GarageBand to mix along with the other software instruments.  That is going to be cool...  but still will take a while and this is just a hobby.