Author Topic: Music Finder for Montage/MODX  (Read 3677 times)

mtrigoboff

Music Finder for Montage/MODX
« on: January 05, 2019, 06:46:25 PM »
I am a Montage owner. I just found out about the Music Finder feature of Yamaha Arranger keyboards, and would love to have something similar to use with my Montage.

Music Finder database files are available here in the form of tab-delimited text. I am a programmer, and could easily write code to make something like the Music Finder for the Montage if I had one additional item: something that showed for each PSR/Tyros/Genos Style, the most similar Motif XF/Montage Performance.

Does something like that exist?

I am not looking to make money with this. I would be happy to provide it as free and open source to anyone who wanted it.

Thanks...

Offline pjd

Re: Music Finder for Montage/MODX
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2019, 08:01:53 PM »
Hi --

I caught your post on YamahaSynth.com.

Unfortunately, the main problem is that Montage Performances and PSR/Genos styles are not equivalent. When Yamaha created Motif (XS and later) arpeggios, they mined PSR/Tyros styles to obtain the base musical phrases that make up arpeggios. (Yamaha also mined its beatboxes like the RMX, etc.) So, the arpeggios are effectively deconstructed styles.

Rather than re-assemble the arpeggios into PSR/Tyros equivalents, the Motif developers combined arpeggios (phrases) into Performances that are geared for contemporary music. The Motif/MOX Performances are definitely hipper than PSR/Tyros styles and are stripped down to 4-part drum, bass, guitar and (optional) sweetener. Motif/Montage has a lot more depth in contemporary areas like EDM, hip hop, R&B, funk.