Author Topic: Budget constrained Genos purchase - OK to start off with headphones?  (Read 7690 times)

Offline sjn2048

I'm an absolute keyboard beginner (with no musical instrument experience) and decided to actively pursue my musical interests as I'm now semi retired.
I have spent a lot of time investigating the Genos since initially looking at a Tyros 5 late last year, both online (Forums andYouTube) and have had a few hourly sesson of introduction from the great guys up at GuitarGuitar in Glasgow.

I've found myself a very suitable and local Keyboard tutor (who has a Clavinova) and I don't intend to transport the Genos at all.

Going to use it for personal amusement and initially it will need to be in my small business office which won't be good for the acoustics.

Would it be acceptable to start off using a decent set of headphones (Roland RH200) before progressing to say a set of Yamaha HS7's when i eventually relocate into the main house?

Steve

Offline billtracy

Re: Budget constrained Genos purchase - OK to start off with headphones?
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2018, 08:38:06 PM »
I think good headphones would be fine. I do think it might have been wiser to start off with a "lesser" keyboard since you are a beginner-maybe something like a PSR-S770 which is still a very good board. But that is a personal choice.
Current: Korg PA900/JBL 308P/Focusrite Clarett 2Pre/Band in a Box/Reaper/EZdrummer 3. Previously Owned: Yamaha PSR-740/Yamaha PSR-1100/Yamaha PSR-S750.

Offline sjn2048

« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2018, 08:55:26 PM »
Thanks for the reply. A bit more background info may help you understand why I'm looking at the Genos as opposed to other models..

I did have a PSR350 (with 3.5" floppy drive) some years ago, and have struggled with a 72 base Piano accordion (primarily due to lack of suitable tutors).