Author Topic: NEW TO FORUM WITH QUESTION ABOUT PSR-EW400  (Read 6347 times)

ALYM

NEW TO FORUM WITH QUESTION ABOUT PSR-EW400
« on: December 19, 2017, 06:09:17 AM »
I have had this keyboard for about one week.  I am very new to keyboards and attempting to learn to play it.  One issue that I have noticed is that the Touch Response feature of the keyboard returns to the default setting the next time the instrument is turned on.  Is there any work around?  The Registration Memory function does not have an option for saving this setting.

Now I just have to learn to play it.  I am discovering learning to play a musical instrument is a difficult task.

Thank you

Offline SciNote

Re: NEW TO FORUM WITH QUESTION ABOUT PSR-EW400
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2017, 08:49:08 AM »
I checked the manual for that keyboard, and page 39 indicates that the Touch Response setting should be stored and remembered even after the power is turned off.  If this setting is not being saved on your keyboard, I'm not sure what the reason would be.  The setting of the Touch Response seems pretty straightforward -- the manual (page 42) just indicates to call up that function and then make the setting using the data wheel.  It doesn't refer to any special "save" procedure to do after you make the selection of the touch response level.

I'd say to try it again, and if it still doesn't save, then maybe it is a defect, and you'd want to check with the store where you bought it or with Yamaha directly.

Now, if the issue is that certain sounds don't seem to have any touch response, even after you turn that feature on, that could potentially be due to the fact that certain sounds, like most of the organs, are not programmed to use touch response, because a real organ does not generally have touch-responsive keys.
« Last Edit: December 19, 2017, 08:50:46 AM by SciNote »
Bob
Current: Yamaha PSR-E433 (x2), Roland GAIA SH-01, Casio CDP-200R, Casio MT-68 (wired to bass pedals)