Author Topic: Tyros 5 - Connection to PC - Composition with software  (Read 3208 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline geezee

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Gender: Male
Tyros 5 - Connection to PC - Composition with software
« on: November 28, 2013, 07:54:50 AM »
Hello,

Thanks for the forum, first time here.

I will be receiving soon the new Tyros 5 (Switzerland, fench part).
I'm already wondering how to connect the keyboard with PC (Windows 7 - 64bit) and which software to use for composing songs (Cubase ?)

Your explanations, piece of advice, tips will be most welcome.

Regards,

Geezee

Offline kla4

  • Assoc Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 59
Re: Tyros 5 - Connection to PC - Composition with software
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2013, 03:13:32 PM »
Hi GeeZee.

You only need a USB (A-B) cable and connect them to both your PC and T5.
The Yamaha midi-driver can be downloaded from the Yamaha website.

Cubase recognizes the T5 as 'Digital Workstation' and off you go!

Offline rattley

  • Charter Member
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 231
  • Gender: Male
    • Charley's Style Gems
Re: Tyros 5 - Connection to PC - Composition with software
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2013, 03:27:34 PM »
Welcome to the forum!!  I have a Tyros 5 on order too. I used PowerTracks and FL Studio with my Tyros 4 with no problems. Kla4 is correct. USB is convenient and any sequencing program should work just fine.  -charley

Offline geezee

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tyros 5 - Connection to PC - Composition with software
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2013, 03:28:58 AM »
Thanks for your answers !

Since I am a newcomer, I need some more details please.

I want to make a composition with different parts but do not know how to do that...

My goal is to play a piano part on the Tyros 5 and then replay it while I play the strings and then with the flute and so on so as to make a whole song or composition.

Can I do that directly on the tyros 5 or do I have to record each part separately and then transfer them on the PC (with an appropriate software like for instance Cubase) ?

In fact, I would like a step by step procedure for creating a whole piece of music which can be recorded and edited.

I hope this is not too laborious or ambitous but would be very happy to be able to do that (it could probably be useful to others too).

Many thanks to all.

Geezee
 

Offline geezee

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tyros 5 - Connection to PC - Composition with software
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2013, 03:36:59 AM »
I forgot to ask...

What software would you suggest for composition on PC (not too complicated).

Thanks,
Geezee

Offline kla4

  • Assoc Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 59
Re: Tyros 5 - Connection to PC - Composition with software
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2013, 03:49:02 AM »
I'm a huge Cubase fan/user and use it mostly for multitrack audio recording.
Cubase does MIDI-recording as well and all midi-events can be recorded/edited on you computer. There is no need to transfer data to the Tyros.

Since I use Cubase since late 80ties for me it is 'easy to use' but for new users there is a LOT to understand/learn. The best thing to do is find some help in your neighbourhood. (e.g. traing/course)

Cubase has various versions of software and you can start with the 'Elements' version, only 90,-   

Offline Zamenhof

  • Asst. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 15
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tyros 5 - Connection to PC - Composition with software
« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2013, 04:25:44 AM »
As far as I can see, you can connect the Tyros to your PC in three ways: Wireless LAN, MIDI and USB. Does anyone know if there are any differences? Does Cubase also recognize Tyros as a digital workstation with MIDI or wifi (my guess is "no")?
« Last Edit: November 29, 2013, 04:26:49 AM by Zamenhof »

Offline nbnserge

  • YAMAHA TYROS
  • Assoc Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 94
    • TYROS 5 news, videos, tutorials
Re: Tyros 5 - Connection to PC - Composition with software
« Reply #7 on: November 29, 2013, 05:21:13 AM »
I forgot to ask...

What software would you suggest for composition on PC (not too complicated).

Thanks,
Geezee

I am doing a complete tutorial with stp by step guide
I would recommend you : Ignite by Air
very easy to use
watch for more articles to come showing you real examples

you can watch this thread for example

http://www.psrtutorial.com/forum/index.php?topic=22900.0

or go to my site , link below
Yamaha Tyros 5 news, videos, demos, tutorials, piano arranger lessons, how to play : http://www.poubnews.com/category/piano-keyboard

Offline geezee

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tyros 5 - Connection to PC - Composition with software
« Reply #8 on: November 29, 2013, 06:12:32 AM »
Great ! Thanks Serge and it looks as if you speak french too...

Offline nbnserge

  • YAMAHA TYROS
  • Assoc Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 94
    • TYROS 5 news, videos, tutorials
Re: Tyros 5 - Connection to PC - Composition with software
« Reply #9 on: November 29, 2013, 06:40:11 AM »
yes I live in France
each article on the web site is written in french and english
and on this forum it is better to write in English so everybody can read and understand
thanks
Yamaha Tyros 5 news, videos, demos, tutorials, piano arranger lessons, how to play : http://www.poubnews.com/category/piano-keyboard

Offline geezee

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tyros 5 - Connection to PC - Composition with software
« Reply #10 on: November 29, 2013, 06:41:23 AM »
NO problem, thanks, I will stick to english !

Offline nbnserge

  • YAMAHA TYROS
  • Assoc Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 94
    • TYROS 5 news, videos, tutorials
Re: Tyros 5 - Connection to PC - Composition with software
« Reply #11 on: November 29, 2013, 06:52:33 AM »
you can PM and write in french if you have some more specific questions
 no problem
Yamaha Tyros 5 news, videos, demos, tutorials, piano arranger lessons, how to play : http://www.poubnews.com/category/piano-keyboard

Offline geezee

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tyros 5 - Connection to PC - Composition with software
« Reply #12 on: December 01, 2013, 01:05:30 AM »
Thanks very much.

This topic has gone somewhere but where ...? I cannot find it any more in the "Tyros 5" section ?