PSR Tutorial Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 30, 2015, 07:01:36 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
144,187 Posts in 20,324 Topics by 4,607 Members
Latest Member: u727216
* Home Help Login Register
PSR Tutorial Forum  |  Essential Extras  |  Accessory Software (Moderators: MBedesem, Bill Grosse, Tyros Trax)  |  Topic: roland backing module 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: 1 Go Down Print
Author Topic: roland backing module  (Read 2521 times)
harry t
Supporter
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 333


WWW
« on: April 27, 2011, 10:15:28 AM »

Anyone got or tried the rolandBK-7m backing module . If so ,do you know if it works with tyros 3, and how good is it. I must admit it seems o.k ,not sure of the price tag.700+





Cheers Harry t
Logged
Graham UK
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 777



« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2011, 11:59:20 AM »

There is a report on...It appears to be a nice add on.

http://www.synthzone.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/320464/Roland_BK7M_Modules_Just_Began#Post320464
Logged

T2 + NP30
Bill Grosse
Moderator
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 11,542


« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2011, 01:08:36 PM »

I suggest you take your time and wait for the reviews.  Wink

Download the manuals first and READ them.

You just think the Yamaha manuals are awful.  Shocked

Bill G
Logged

I wasn't going to do anything today - so far, I'm on schedule, Smiley
RF
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 451


Tyros 2 and Korg Micro Arranger


« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2011, 01:45:49 PM »

It should be like a better E80, but without keys, guitar mode and drawbars.
Logged

Kind regards
Ronny F
--------------
Tyros 2, Microarranger,  Bose L1 compact,  HK Audio Lucas nano 300
I had Roland E50,  Technics KN 6000, Bohm Station 2, Wersi MK 1, Roland D 110, Yamaha YS 100
harry t
Supporter
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 333


WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2011, 10:15:04 AM »

Thanks for this. I think I will wait a while and then have another look at it






Harry t
Logged
DonM
Charter Member
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2,451


Benton, LA, USA


WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2011, 05:21:50 PM »


Probably anything I could add I've already said somewhere in the thread that Graham posted.  There must be a lot of interest in it as the thread has around 14,000 views!
DonM
Logged

DonM
psrguy
Supporter
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1,192



« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2011, 07:07:27 PM »

Reminds me of my "old" RealTime Arrangers ( RA50 and RA95 ) that still work with NON real time arranger keyboards..

However, curious why buy the unit if you have a PSR or Tyros ?
Logged

Clever Illustrations of Everyday Sayings

http://imgur.com/gallery/x3rSK
DonM
Charter Member
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2,451


Benton, LA, USA


WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2011, 05:13:06 AM »

Reminds me of my "old" RealTime Arrangers ( RA50 and RA95 ) that still work with NON real time arranger keyboards..

However, curious why buy the unit if you have a PSR or Tyros ?

1. Light weight (3 pounds)
2. Low cost (less than $1,000.  Way cheaper than a girl friend.
3. Great drums
4. Different sounds and styles, not necessarily better, but different
5. Tax deduction
6. Can't stand to see the UPS truck pass my house without stopping.
 Smiley
DonM
Logged

DonM
psrguy
Supporter
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1,192



« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2011, 02:21:31 PM »

DonM

Excellent reasons.

Also, if i may add to your list,  i just can't stop buying music gear plus lugging it along to my gigs. Personally, i love the Roland "sound" .

Walter
« Last Edit: April 29, 2011, 02:22:52 PM by psrguy » Logged

Clever Illustrations of Everyday Sayings

http://imgur.com/gallery/x3rSK
RF
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 451


Tyros 2 and Korg Micro Arranger


« Reply #9 on: May 10, 2011, 04:14:02 AM »

However, curious why buy the unit if you have a PSR or Tyros ?
1. You are compatible to a bigger style library (all Roland styles too)
2. You get more polyphony
3. You get different sounds, so it's easier to get the sound, you really like
4. Make Up Tools - so you can modify the MIDI file's drum mapping and make a GS MIDI file compatible to PSR S910
5. You could layer more than 3 sounds on right and more than one on left hand.
Logged

Kind regards
Ronny F
--------------
Tyros 2, Microarranger,  Bose L1 compact,  HK Audio Lucas nano 300
I had Roland E50,  Technics KN 6000, Bohm Station 2, Wersi MK 1, Roland D 110, Yamaha YS 100
Bill Grosse
Moderator
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 11,542


« Reply #10 on: May 10, 2011, 04:18:04 AM »

RF,

You need to do more home work on the Roland unit I think.

No more polyphony than any of the latest arrangers.

You get no datalisting for this module and MIDI mapping is impossible as it ships.

You get a max of 2 sounds on the right - are we talking about the same thing here?

Bill G
Logged

I wasn't going to do anything today - so far, I'm on schedule, Smiley
RF
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 451


Tyros 2 and Korg Micro Arranger


« Reply #11 on: May 10, 2011, 04:36:22 AM »

Whenever you want to use more, than the factory voices of your keyboard, does it mean "more homework".
About polyphony: Of course, Roland has not more than a Tyros, but when you use both together, you got up to 256 voice polyphony, 128 from Yamaha and 128 from Roland.
Roland's Makeup Tools modifies the MIDI file and the MIDI files drumtrack. So you could turn a Roland GS drumtrack to a Yamaha XG one.
When connecting Tyros with Roland, you could layer up to 6 sounds on right hand. It depends to the MIDI settings.
Logged

Kind regards
Ronny F
--------------
Tyros 2, Microarranger,  Bose L1 compact,  HK Audio Lucas nano 300
I had Roland E50,  Technics KN 6000, Bohm Station 2, Wersi MK 1, Roland D 110, Yamaha YS 100
Bill Grosse
Moderator
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 11,542


« Reply #12 on: May 10, 2011, 01:47:42 PM »

RF,

That is very true what you say about the two units working together, but
the original statement suggested to me "instead of". not "together".

Perhaps you could tell us how Roland's Makeup Tools would work with the BK-7m?
So far I have been unable to find how you can do anything except send the
common CC commands to the BK-7m unit from an external controller.
Several of our members have this unit now and would very much like to know
how to control thin unit by means other than pushing buttons on the unit itself.

Bill G


Logged

I wasn't going to do anything today - so far, I'm on schedule, Smiley
mark styles
PSR Performer
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1,178



WWW
« Reply #13 on: May 10, 2011, 05:49:33 PM »

I'm interested in the Roland unit too.  It might be a great addition to Tyros.  Literature says it has a strong MIDI section.  This would imply to me, that using it in conjunction with Tyros you could layer or substitute sounds with Tyros.  You might be able to sync Roland up to Tyros and have it playing a song/style also.  You could create registrations in Tyros to mute out some instruments so Roland could play them.

Although the Tyros drums are fine, I sometimes wish for more variety.  I'd wait for reviews, and try to check one out in a music store.  Or find a store that lets you return merchandise. 

I bought my T3 from a store with a 2 week return policy for any reason. I bought Tyros without hearing it. Of course I couldn't return it.
Logged

Bill Grosse
Moderator
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 11,542


« Reply #14 on: May 10, 2011, 07:19:32 PM »

Mark,

Be careful what implications you read into advertising.  Wink

Yes, the Roland unit does have pretty good MIDI connections, but there is is zip in the
way of any external programing information.

I just don't understand why they include Cakewalk with the unit, but absolutely no MIDI data information.

Bill G
Logged

I wasn't going to do anything today - so far, I'm on schedule, Smiley
RF
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 451


Tyros 2 and Korg Micro Arranger


« Reply #15 on: May 11, 2011, 03:45:59 PM »

If the Make Up Tools works, as known from E50/60/80 and G70, you may go into the menu, decide what kind of file you want to edit (style or song) and then you go through the tracks and you could edit all mixing parameters, octave, some synthesizer parameters and on drum tracks you could exchange drum instruments (congas instead bongos for example).
Logged

Kind regards
Ronny F
--------------
Tyros 2, Microarranger,  Bose L1 compact,  HK Audio Lucas nano 300
I had Roland E50,  Technics KN 6000, Bohm Station 2, Wersi MK 1, Roland D 110, Yamaha YS 100
hammer
PSR Performer
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1,697


My Other Hobby


WWW
« Reply #16 on: May 11, 2011, 04:19:33 PM »

I have had the Roland BK-7M now for about a month.  If you want to know what my first hand
experience has been you can email me and I would be glad to share my thoughts with you. I even
used it on a gig this week.

Hammer
Logged
Pages: 1 Go Up Print 
PSR Tutorial Forum  |  Essential Extras  |  Accessory Software (Moderators: MBedesem, Bill Grosse, Tyros Trax)  |  Topic: roland backing module « previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!