Author Topic: Just Joined so 'Hello' to you all !  (Read 1583 times)

Offline DC

• Supporter
  • PSR S-970 owner and beginner looking to improve
Just Joined so 'Hello' to you all !
« on: December 18, 2016, 08:17:31 AM »
Hi Everyone - My name is David, at 54, a humble 'beginner' keyboard player but one who loves the Yamaha range of keyboards. My close friend of 17 years Chris Hopkins (Resident organist in the Blackpool Tower Ballroom) has a Tyros 5 which is way ahead of me so he recommended the S-970. I treated myself to one in January 2016 and simply 'Love It'  :). In truth I have found the two 'Owners' and 'Reference' manuals quite hard going so have defaulted to 'YouTube' to help me find my way around the S-970 and I am still learning !!. I find watching someone doing something far batter than trying to understand the Manual's. Ironically, having attained Grade 5 Violin at School back in 1979 I seem to have developed a 'Play by sound' ability over the 'post school' years, so play many S-970 pieces in this way, as near to the original tune but not strictly to the written key / music....but it is working, so long may it continue!. I may not contribute much to this forum in my early stages, but I am genuinely looking forward to learning so much from you all.
With very best wishes to you all.
Sincerely
David

Online Roger Brenizer

Re: Just Joined so 'Hello' to you all !
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2016, 06:10:16 PM »
Hi David,

Welcome to the forum and thank you for becoming a member.  Your close friend, Chris Hopkins, has certainly recommended a good keyboard in the PSR-S970.  I'm sure you're going to learn a great deal about your keyboard here on the forum and will experience many pleasurable hours playing it.

You'll want to be sure to visit the Home page and check out some of the tutorials you will find links to there.  This link will take you to the Home page of the website: http://psrtutorial.com/