Author Topic: Hello from Hurricane, Utah  (Read 1069 times)

Offline Thomas9595

Hello from Hurricane, Utah
« on: December 03, 2016, 07:03:12 AM »
Hi all:

I was doing a search for music files for my S950 when I accidentally came across the PSRTutorial website. It was exactly what I was looking for...and a whole lot more!!!

I've been dickering around with keyboards since a young lad (accordion first then pianos and organs and finally electronic keyboards) and only formally taught music in my childhood days. But I had a knack for playing by "ear" and prefer that method over reading music (which I have limited skills with).

I've owned my S950 for about 2 years and have basically been playing around with it but not really seriously into composing and arranging music. However, I work for a large nursing home (I'm a medical professional) and would love to share my keyboard skills with the elderly folks that live there. Live entertainment has been mediocre at best and I know they would certainly enjoy the wonderful sounds this keyboard is able to produce. Thus I am now seriously getting into the music so I can volunteer some personal time to entertain those in nursing homes. No pay sought, just enjoy entertaining those who appreciate it.

I've got a lot to learn, from the basics to the advanced, on how to truly utilize the Yamaha PSR-S950. I've only begun to realize the tip of the iceberg!

I've played keyboards in bands in the past and enjoy entertaining as a volunteer. Hope you guys can help me get the most out of my S950.

I am planning to purchase a pair of the Yamaha STAGEPAS 600i speakers with mixer. I was quite impressed with these speakers having heard them used with the S950 when I bought it. Any comments regarding these speakers are welcome.

Thanks for letting me join...and I apologize for the lengthy "hello".

Tom
Tom
Hurricane, Utah
Owner PSR-S950 and Ensoniq KT-76 Synth

Offline Ray Eyden

Re: Hello from Hurricane, Utah