Author Topic: Arranging Songs  (Read 3455 times)

Offline Ed B

Arranging Songs
« on: March 20, 2010, 06:20:30 PM »
I am relatively new to the Yamaha PSR and as such have tried to come up with not just the technical side of the using the keyboard but how to arrange music that I personally like to listen to and that will appeal to others. It's a hobby with me. I have a little experience in generating computer based music but I am not a technically proficient pianist. I have been over the ďlesson sectionĒ in The PSR tutorial. Here is what I do. I would like comments or ideas from others on how they go about arranging.
1.   I select a song I want to play/arrange. I then find the music. Take a look at it to see what it looks like and may play the melody. I then create a lead sheet in Finale 2010 using a JAZZ script because I can see that easier than trying to play directly from a fake book.
2.   I then look for a fitting style using Music Finder (Joes listthanks Joe) or someone's style with the song name on it. If I cannot find a match and this happens then I'll look at genre and tempo to find a general style that might be suitable. I usually start with genre. ( I should also say that if the piece looks beyond my playing capability I will perhaps build it in Finale I've done this with many classics such as Chopin's Nocturne1 Op9 well beyond my keyboard skills to play at this time.  These are arranged on the computer and converted for keyboard using Michael Bedesems  Midiplayer 2,  PSruit from Heiko Plate and Mega Enhancer . My thank to Michael and Heiko these are great programs. I will then use these midis on the computer and play some form of accompaniment strings harp arpeggio etc on the keyboard )